Skip to main content

Library Collection Budget Assessment: FY19: Collections Budget

Why does the Library need to cancel resources?

The Strauss Health Sciences Library has an overall collections budget of $2,734,683 in FY19. Approximately, less than 1% is spent on one-time purchases while 99% is spent on electronic (e.g. journals, databases, etc.) subscriptions.

In a given fiscal year (July 1 through June 30), we expect our subscription costs to rise by approximately 5-7%. Without a steady collection budget increase, the Library must cancel resources. 

FY19 Cancellations

The Strauss Library needs to cut approximately $130,000 in FY19. We have undertaken the following approaches to cut collection cost in FY19:

--Negotiate with publishers

One way to save cost is to negotiate multi-year agreement with publishers for resources essential for this campus.  We have entered multi-year contract for many of the most important resources over the years, and we added more in FY19.   

  • We negotiated a three-year agreement with Ovid to lock in our journal renewal price for 2019-2021.  Our annual increase rate is 4%, instead of the regular rate of 8%. 
  • We negotiated along with other CU libraries for a three-year deal on Nature journal package renewal.  Our annual price increase is 4% instead of 6%.

For resources not locked in a multi-year contract, we asked for price reduction. 

  • American Society for Microbiology journals: Reduced price increase rate from 5% to 3%.
  • NEJM: Reduced price rate from 7% to 5%.

--Cost-sharing with other CU libraries

We participate in group purchasing via national, state or CU system library groups.  Many of our subscriptions are part of the CU system deal that include other CU libraries.  We negotiated with our sister libraries to change the cost distribution.  The most significant item is:

  • We reduced our Nature journal package renewal cost, as the other CU libraries graciously agreed to take on more of the total CU system cost to help us out.   

--Cancellations

The following are resources we cancelled for 2019. We are still in negotiation with Wiley about journal renewal cost. If you have any questions, comments, or concerns please contact Yumin Jiang or Danielle Ostendorf. 

Collections/Databases

  • Ulrichs Web

Journal Title

  • Aids Research and Human Retroviruses
  • Audio Digest: Anesthesiology
  • Audio Digest: Emergency Medicine
  • Audio Digest: Family Practice
  • Audio Digest: Internal Medicine
  • British Journal of Nutrition
  • Evidence-Based Dentistry
  • Genes and Immunity
  • Hormone Research in Paediatrics
  • International Journal of Impotence Research
  • Journal of Medical Microbiology
  • Nature Reviews Urology
  • Nature Reviews Cardiology

Provide Feedback on Cancellations

Head, Collection Management

Yumin Jiang's picture
Yumin Jiang
Contact:
303-724-2137

yumin.jiang@ucdenver.edu

Electronic Resources Librarian

Danielle Ostendorf's picture
Danielle Ostendorf
Contact:
303-724-2134