Skip to main content

Library Classes: All About Ovid

All About Ovid

All About Ovid

Class Description:
You may already know about Ovid MEDLINE - what about those other databases? Learn about and explore the databases available via Ovid: Health and Psychosocial Instruments, Medline, and PsycINFO. This class will introduce you to MEDLINE and the "other" Ovid databases and help you learn what types of information they index.

Learning Objectives

  • Recognize Ovid as an option for searching any of the following databases:
    • HAPI (Health and Psychosocial Instruments) 1985 to present
    • Journals@Ovid Full Text
    • Ovid Medline 1946 to Present with Daily Update
    • Ovid Medline 1946 to May Week 5 2015
    • Ovid Medline Daily Update
    • Ovid Medline In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations
    • Ovid Medline In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations and Ovid Medline 1946 to Present
    • Ovid Medline In-Process & Other non-Indexed Citations, Ovid Medline Daily and Ovid Medline 1946 to Present
    • PsycINFO 1806 to present
    • Books@Ovid
    • The Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database
    • AMED (Allied and Complementary Medicine) 1985 to present
  • Execute a search in the advanced mode of any of the Ovid databases;
  • Understand the difference between subject heading and textword searching;
  • Limit a search by language, year of publication, and other limit options;
  • Use special features: Find Citation, Find Similar, Find Citing Articles;
  • Review the options for viewing full text of articles;
  • Save searches;
  • Switch to another Ovid database;
  • Print, save, or email the results of a search.