This is the "Home" page of the "Answering Clinical Questions in Real Time" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
CU Health Sciences LibraryCU Health Sciences Library CU Anschutz Medical Campus A-Z Index My Library Account Canvas Web Mail Office 365 Email UCD Access HTML Map

Answering Clinical Questions in Real Time  

Our resources have many features that will help you to find accurate answers to clinical questions quickly. This guide accompanies the Library's class "Answering Clinical Questions in Real Time."
Last Updated: Oct 3, 2014 URL: http://hslibraryguides.ucdenver.edu/realtime Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Objectives

Objectives:

1.  To identify concepts from clinical questions which are “searchable” in clinical information resources.

2.  To review clinical information resources and highlight their strengths and weakness for specific information needs.

3.  To use the features of Ovid MEDLINE and PubMed/MEDLINE which improve efficiency of searching and viewing results.

4.  To access help with any of the resources reviewed in class.

 

Class Agenda

This Resource Guide is the companion to the Health Sciences Library's class, Answering Clinical Questions in Real Time

1.       Review of Student Needs and Goals

2.       Types of resources available

  • Table A, by time available for searching
  • Table B, by question type
  • General Tips

3.     Using Ovid, PubMed Clinical Queries

4.     PubMed efficiency resources

5.     Stumped? Ask Us!

 

Table A and B

Table A:  Resources by time available for searching

Type

Purpose/Use

Some Examples 

Filtered, summarized
monographs

When you have only 10-15 minutes to find information:

·         Answers clinical questions in a concise, easily accessible format.

·         Organized information for quick browsing.

Dynamed*

FIRSTConsult*

Five Minute Clinical Consult

Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database*
Up To Date

Information Aggregators

When you have only 20-30 minutes to find information:

·         Go beyond the basics and scan collected information for relevant content. One-stop access to a wide variety of material.

·         Save time by simultaneously searching textbooks, PubMed, Cochrane, National Guidelines Clearinghouse, image resources, drug reference databases, risk calculators or other tools, or other specialized resources.

MDConsult*
NursingConsult*
Micromedex*
STAT!Ref

Critically Appraised Information

When you want to keep up on the literature, but don't have time to read the whole article:

·         MD prepared critical summaries of the evidence.

Dynamed*
some parts of The Cochrane Library

NursingConsult*

Journal Article Databases

When you have 30 minutes or more to look for journal citations and full text articles:

·         Indexed databases of journal article citations and abstracts with no critical appraisal

·         Search tools and limits that help you find answers to your clinical questions more quickly.

 

Ovid - Medline and  PsycINFO
PubMed Medline

EBSCO - CINAHL (Nursing and Allied Health)

Mobile Technology  Resources

·         When you have only 10-15 minutes to find information

Many resources provide Mobile versions for handheld access.  Some are free with The Health Sciences Library’s resources; some are an additional fee.

 

Mobile Technology Resource Guide 
Check individual resources for Mobile version

 


 

 

 

 

Table B:  Resources by question type     

Type of Question

Time available for Search

 

 20 minutes or less

More than 20 minutes

1. Alternative or Complementary Treatment 

FIRSTConsult*

Micromedex*
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database*
NursingConsult*

EBSCO - CINAHL (Nursing and Allied Health)
Ovid - Medline 
PubMed Medline
AMED (Allied and Complementary Medicine Database)

2. Calculator, Rule, Table, Lab Result, Procedure or Test 

Dynamed*

FIRSTConsult*
MedCalc 3000 in STAT!Ref
Micromedex*

EBSCO - CINAHL (Nursing and Allied Health)
Ovid - Medline and  PsycINFO
PubMed Medline

3. Differential Diagnosis

Five Minute Clinical Consult

FIRSTConsult*

Isabel dx

Micromedex*

Clinical Queries in EBSCO - CINAHL (Nursing and Allied Health), Ovid - Medline and  PsycINFO, or PubMed Medline

4. Disease Information -Diagnostic Test or Treatment Recom-mendations 

Dynamed*

FIRSTConsult*

NursingConsult*

Clinical Queries in EBSCO - CINAHL (Nursing and Allied Health), Ovid - Medline and  PsycINFO, or PubMed Medline
Disease Search in EMBASE

5. Drug Info 

Drugstore.com
Micromedex*
MDConsult*

NursingConsult*
STAT!Ref

Ovid - Medline and  PsycINFO
PubMed Medline

Drug Search in EMBASE

6. Evidence Based

 

Dynamed*

FIRSTConsult*

Micromedex*
NursingConsult*

Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database*

The Cochrane Library
Evidence Based Limits in EMBASE

Clinical Queries in EBSCO - CINAHL (Nursing and Allied Health) ,

Ovid - Medline and  PsycINFO
PubMed Medline

7. Nursing and
Nursing  Diagnosis  (p. 5)

NursingConsult*

Clinical Queries in EBSCO - CINAHL (Nursing and Allied Health)

8. Patient Education

 

FIRSTConsult*

Micromedex*

MedlinePlus
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database*

 

Patient Education in Languages Other Than English

 

MDConsult*

MedlinePlus

Micromedex*
New South Wales Multicultural Health Communication Service *

 

 Unless otherwise indicated, all resources are available at: http://hslibrary.ucdenver.edu/databases/  (Choose Clinical Caare under Databases by Subject or use Find Databases by Title)
* indicates the top choices for the quickest answers.  BE SURE TO LOGOFF WHEN DONE!

Lynne Fox's Profile

Profile Image
Lynne Fox
Contact Info
303-724-2121
303-724-2166 fax
lynne.fox@ucdenver.edu
UC Denver Health Sciences Library
12950 E. Montview Blvd., Campus Box A003
Aurora, CO 80045
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Ben Harnke
Contact Info
Send Email
 
Health Sciences Library | University of Colorado Denver
Mail Stop A003, 12950 E. Montview Blvd., Aurora, CO 80045, USA Tel: 303-724-2152
Ask Us
Tell Us
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip