This is the "Complementary, Alternative, and Integrative Medicine" page of the "Indigenous and Integrative Medicine" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
A-Z Site IndexMy Library AccountCanvasOffice 365 EmailUCD AccessHealth Sciences LibraryHealth Sciences LibraryCU Anschutz Medical Campus

Last Updated: Jun 16, 2014 URL: http://hslibraryguides.ucdenver.edu/CAM Print Guide RSS Updates

Complementary, Alternative, and Integrative Medicine Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Strauss-Wisneski Integrative and Indigenous Medicine Collection

 

The Collection contains resources on a wide range of topics: mind/body research; health systems from various regions and cultures; assorted modalities of diagnosing and treating chronic illness; and self-health practices from diet to meditation.  It contains approximately 1,200 items.

Chinese Medicine Books

     

    Featured Books from CU Health Sciences Library

    Cover Art
    The scientific basis of integrative medicine - Leonard A. Wisneski
    Call Number: WL 103.7 W815s 2005
    ISBN: 084932081X
    Publication Date: c2005
    A review of classic physiological systems - Systems integration of psychoneuroimmunology, the stress system, the relaxation system. Therapeutic modalities -- The pineal gland. Physiology meets energy.

    Cover Art
    Complementary medicine in clinical practice : integrative practice in American healthcare - David Rakel, Nancy Faass
    Call Number: WB 890 C73705 2006
    ISBN: 0763730653
    Publication Date: c2006
    Includes bibliographical references and index

    Cover Art
    Complementary and integrative medicine in cancer care and prevention : foundations and evidence-based interventions - editor, Marc S. Micozzi
    Call Number: QZ 266 C7367 2007
    ISBN: 0826103057
    Publication Date: c2007
    Includes bibliographical references and index.
    Cancer as a cellular phenomenon / Cancer as a biological phenomenon / Antiquity and ecology of cancer /

    Cover Art
    Complementary and Alternative Cancer Methods - American Cancer Society Staff; David Rosenthal (Foreword by)
    ISBN: 9780944235713
    Publication Date: 2009-04-01
    Includes bibliographical references and index.

     

    Integrative Medicine/CAM Overview

    Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM) is a growing field in health.   The information provided here is intended to increase knowledge and understanding of CAM.  The site, in addition,  provides resources to help examine Integrative Medicine, a medical treatment approach that  is the combined use of conventional Western Medical practice with evidence-based CAM modalities.  

    The Strauss Lectures are a series of presentations on indigenous and integrative medicine held in the Health Sciences Library and open to the public.  The Spring 2013 schedule is in planning. See a list of past lectures for a sampling of the type of presentations sponsored by the Lecture series. To be informed of upcoming lectures you can be notified via email by sending a message to lilian.hoffecker@ucdenver.edu.   
    If you are interested in presenting a lecture or you know someone who is, please submit information using this lecture recommendation form.

     

    Definition of Integrative/Complementary & Alternative Medicine

    Integrative medicine combines conventional care with alternative medicine to improve patient care.Rather than practice one type of medicine, integrative physicians will often combine therapies and treatment approaches to ensure the best results for their patients.  The American College for the Advancement of Medicine (ACAM), one of a growing number of Integrative care educational facilities, holds to a core principle that Integrative physicians do not shun Western medicine, but practice Western care every day.  

    The American College for the Advancement of Medicine (n.d.) Retrieved June 17, 2013

     The terms "alternative medicine" or "complementary medicine" . . .  refer to a broad set of health care practices that are not part of that country's own tradition and are not integrated into the dominant [in this case, conventional Western Medicine] health care system. 

    World Health Organization (n.d.) Retrieved Nov. 20, 2012 

       

     

    Developers

    Profile Image

    Lisa Wood
    Health Sciences Library Volunteer

    Southwest Acupuncture College,Boulder, CO 80401
    Send Email

    .............................................

    Profile Image

    Christine Swisher
    MLS Practicum Student, Spring 2013, University of Denver

    Send Email

    ............................................

    Profile Image

    Lilian Hoffecker
    Research Librarian
    Health Sciences Library

    Send Email

     

    Search the Health Sciences Library Impulse Catalogue

    Search WorldCat for library materials around the world

    WorldCat.org >>
    Health Sciences Library | University of Colorado Denver
    Mail Stop A003, 12950 E. Montview Blvd., Aurora, CO 80045, USA Tel: 303-724-2152
    Ask Us
    Tell Us
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip