Skip to main content
Banner Image

Searching for Evidence Based Information: PubMed (MEDLINE)

The UC Denver Health Sciences Library's Searching for Evidence Based Information Tutorial is designed to provide a basic overview of the concepts important to searching for high quality information on which to base clinical decisions.

Tutorial

Basic Searching in PubMed (7 mins.)

Linking to Full Text Resources (4 mins.)

Using PubMed as a Discovery Tool: Related Citations, Building Searches from the MeSH Indexing [COMING SOON!]

Using Article Type Filters and Clinical Queries for Evidence Based Searching (14 mins.) 

   [For more on filters, see the tutorial The Filters Sidebar. (2.5 mins.)]

Using the MeSH Database to Build a Search  (10 mins.)

My NCBI

The modules of this section of the course focus on My NCBI. My NCBI allows you to create automatic email alerts, save your searches and records, filter results by subject, and much more.

Use My NCBI along with PubMed to:

  • Use a control panel to access the features of My NCBI
  • Set preferences for viewing results to your searches
  • Display links to the Health Science Library’s full text articles
  • Save searches and receive automatic email updates
  • Save results in a personalized collection of citations
  • Select filters to customize and group your search results

Try My NCBI with a trial login and password.  Only one user at a time can be logged into the trial account.   

Login           cuamchsl
Password      cuamchsl

View a My NCBI Brochure for written instructions

Register for an NCBI account  

Retrieving Your My NCBI Username or Password (2 min.)

My NCBI Home Page  The My NCBI home page is your control panel for the different features of My NCBI. (2 min)

Changing Your Default Display Settings (2 min.)

Selecting Your Outside Tool Preference (3 min.)

         Mark “University of Colorado Health Sciences Library” and save to view the  link to our full text journals

Saving Searches and Creating E-mail Alerts (4 min.)

Changing Saved Searches (2 min.)

E-mail Alerts for Articles from Your Favorite Journals (3 min.)

Collections (3 min.)

Editing Collections (3 min.)

Sharing Collections (2 min.)

Setting Up Filters (3 min.)

Setup My NCBI to access full text

Set up Outside Tool to view resources owned by the Health Sciences Library. 
1. Log in to My NCBI and click on “NCBI Site Preferences” in the upper right hand menu.
2. Under “PubMed Preferences” click on “Outside Tool”
3. Click on the letter “U” at the top of the page
4. Scroll down and click on the circle next to “University of Colorado Health Sciences Library”
5. Scroll to the top and click on “Save”
6. Now, whenever you search PubMed you can login to My NCB and you will see the Article Linker button.


Setup My NCBI to filter results of searches

Set filters for systematic reviews:

1. Click My NCBI, click NCBI Site Preferences list, click PubMed Filters & Icons.

2. Select the Properties radio button, then click Subsets from the list of options

3. Click on Systematic Reviews

Set a filter for guidelines:

1. Click My NCBI, click NCBI Site Preferences list, click PubMed Filters & Icons.

2. Select the Properties radio button, click on Publication Types.

2. Click on Guideline and click Clinical Practice Guideline

Set a filter for Clinical Trial and Meta-analysis type articles:

1. Click My NCBI, click NCBI Site Preferences list, click PubMed Filters & Icons.

2. Select the Properties radio button, click on Publication Types.

3. Find click on Clinical Trial and Meta-analysis

Set a filter for Clinical Queries:

1. In “My NCBI,” Under the PubMed Preferences list, click on the "PubMed Filters & Icons" link.

2. Select the Properties radio button, then “Clinical Queries” from the list of options

3. Select the Clinical Query option you prefer from the list

Recommended options for clinical practice include:  Diagnosis/Narrow; Prognosis/Broad; Prognosis/Narrow; and Treatment/Narrow

Subject Guide

John Jones
Contact: