Skip to main content

Evidence Based Health Care (EBHC): Public Health

Resources for evidence based searching, evidence based practice skill development, and teaching EBHC

Resources

ALSO SEE UNDER SPECIALTY, POLICY MAKERS SECTION ITEMS MARKED WITH Great for advocates, policy makers, journalists

The Canadian Best Practices Portal for Health Promotion and Chronic Disease Prevention  The primary goals of the Canadian Best Practices Portal are to: develop and disseminate best practices information for chronic disease prevention and control interventions, provide decision makers with a comprehensive and standardized resource about best practices for chronic disease prevention and control, and to create awareness of the overall Canadian Best Practices System through communication and marketing activities targeted to key audiences (decision makers in practice, decision makers in policy development, decision makers in research).  

Cancer Control Planet  The Cancer Control P.L.A.N.E.T. portal provides access to Web-based resources that can assist in:

    • Assessing the cancer and/or risk factor burden within a given state.
    • Identifying potential partner organizations that may already be working with high-risk populations.
    • Understanding the current research findings and recommendations.
    • Accessing and downloading evidence-based programs and products.
    • Finding guidelines for planning and evaluation.

Centre for Health Communication and Participation  The Centre's mission is to improve communication with and participation by consumers and carers, through evidence-informed policy and decision making. The Centre hosts the Cochrane Consumers and Communication Review Group, which coordinates the preparation and production of systematic reviews of interventions that affect consumers' interactions with health care professionals, services and researchers. Includes a Resource Bank of reviews of interventions affecting communication with and involvement of consumers in health care.

The Community Guide (U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)  This guide provides evidence based recommendations of what is known about effectiveness, economic efficiency, and feasibility of interventions to prevent disease and promote health in a variety of public health concerns including substance abuse, violence, and nutrition.

The Community Tool Box  The Work Group for Community Health and Development at the University of Kansas promotes community health and development by connecting people, ideas and resources related to research on best practices in public health. The "categorical websites" resource provides links on specific community health topics. 

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)   ERIC is a national information system funded by the U.S. Department of Education's Institute of Education Sciences to provide access to education literature, including evidence-based school health resources. 

Evidence-Based Practice for Public Health - The EBPPH website is an outcome of the Evidence-Based Practice for Public Health Project, based at the Lamar Soutter Library, University of Massachusetts Medical School, Worcester, MA. Selected EBPH resources are arranged along a pathway of evidence to allow public health practitioners to easily find and use the best evidence to develop and implement effective interventions, programs, and policies.

 

Evidence for Policy and Practice Information and Coordinating Center (EPPI-Centre)  The EPPI-Centre provides review of evidence-based policy and practice related to social interventions.The site engages researchers in discussion of how to make research more relevant and how to use findings in many areas including education and health promotion.

National Governor’s Association Center for Best Practices  The NGA Center for Best Practices helps policy staff develop and implement innovative solutions to challenges facing their states.It provides comprehensive information about best practices in emerging issues including: education, health, homeland security and technology, environment, energy, and workforce programs.  

NREPP: National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices NREPP is a searchable database of interventions for the prevention and treatment of mental and substance use disorders. SAMHSA has developed this resource to help people, agencies, and organizations implement programs and practices in their communities.

NACCHO (The National Association for County and City Health Officials)  NACCHO’s Toolbox provides a free, online collection of local public health tools produced by members of the public health community. 

Pew Partnership for Civic Change: Solutions for America (The Guide for Civic Problem Solving)  The Solutions for America guide summarizes effective evidence-based strategies in addressing healthy communities and families, thriving neighborhoods, living-wage jobs, and viable economies.

Program Archives (Sociometrics)   Programs Archives profiles outstanding prevention programs in key health areas (sexuality, health and adolescence, HIV/AIDS, youth substance abuse and prevention).It aims to facilitate the implementation of proven and cost effective initiatives.

Promising Practices  Operated by RAND, a national “think tank” PPN links to additional research information in all areas related to child well-being, including their physical and mental health, academic success, and economic security.

Public Health Partners  Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce is a collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations, and health sciences libraries which provides timely, convenient access to selected public health resources on the Internet.

“What Works” for Child and Youth Development: Tools for Improving Services to Children and Youth (Child Trends)  Child Trend’s “What Works” guide provides interactive tables which illustrate what works and what does not work in improving outcomes for children and adolescents.