Skip to main content

Evidence Based Health Care (EBHC): Pharma

Resources for evidence based searching, evidence based practice skill development, and teaching EBHC

Resources

Quick or easy access to quality filtered or evidence based informationGreat for advocates, policy makers, journalists Current awareness or alerting service via RSS or email. Cochrane Library - via Wiley   Users Guide 

Premier evidence based medicine resource composed of
- the Database of Systematic Reviews containing systematic reviews and meta-analyses conducted by Cochrane Study Groups,
- the Database of Reviews of Effects including systematic reviews and meta-analyses from non-Cochrane sources, many with structured abstracts with comments on the reviews and full text of the review is available via Find Journals,
- Central Register of Controlled Trials indexes many trials not included in MEDLINE,
- HTA and NHS EED include evidence based reviews of technology and economic issues.

Drug Effectiveness Review Project (DERP)   DERP is a collaboration of public entities (the Center for Evidence-based Policy and the Oregon Evidence-based Practice Center) who have joined together to produce systematic, evidence-based reviews of the comparative effectiveness and safety of drugs in many widely used drug classes, and to apply the findings to inform public policy and related activities in local settings.

Drug Industry Data Archive (DIDA) DIDA is a collection of internal corporate documents from large pharmaceutical companies including Merck, Parke-Davis, Wyeth, and Pfizer. These documents reveal questionable drug industry practices concerning clinical trials, publication of study results, pricing, marketing, relations with physicians and involvement in continuing medical education. DIDA was created by the Center for Knowledge Management at the University of California San Francisco Library.

Current awareness or alerting service via RSS or email.EMBASE via Elsevier

Also known as the Excerpta Medica Databases, Embase is a biomedical and pharmacological database produced by Elsevier and contains over 23 million records from 1947   to the present. Each record is fully indexed and Articles in Press are available for some records and In Process are available for all records, ahead of full indexing. Embase covers over 7,000 biomedical journals from 70 countries and it is available online through a number of database vendors.

Quick or easy access to quality filtered or evidence based informationMicromedex  Comprehensive drug information resource including major drug references and annotations written by PharmDs.

Quick or easy access to quality filtered or evidence based information Current awareness or alerting service via RSS or email. Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database   The Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database provides up-to-date evidence based clinical data on natural medicines, herbal medicines, and dietary supplements used in the western world. The database is compiled by pharmacists and physicians who are part of the Pharmacist's Letter and Prescriber's Letter research and editorial staff. The Medlineplus version is a free (taxpayer supported) consumer health information website hosted by the National Library of Medicine.

- via Medlineplus (free version)

Quick or easy access to quality filtered or evidence based informationOxford Pain Site    The Oxford Pain Site "site is for anyone with a professional or personal interest in pain and analgesia. It is firmly based in the principles of evidence-based medicine and has pulled together systematic reviews with pain as an outcome. The site is free because the BUPA Foundation and Merck Sharp and Dohme provided funds to create it. Pfizer UK sponsored maintenance of the site in 2002, but there is no current sponsorship.This section is derived from the Pharmacy subsite sponsored by Janssen-Cilag."

Pain and Palliative Care Reference File  EndNote format reference files designed for use by palliative care providers.

Quick or easy access to quality filtered or evidence based informationCurrent awareness or alerting service via RSS or email.Palliative Care Formulary, second edition  Information about the use of drugs in palliative care.  Sections follow the order in the British National Formulary. There is a section on analgesics and syringe drivers. The appendices deal with themes that transcend the drug monographs, e.g. important drug interactions, named patient suppliers. the use of nebulised drugs. The site contains both the recommended International Nonproprietary Names (rINNs) and, where they differ, the more familiar (though outdated) British Approved Names (BANs).  Sign up for an email distribution list that allows members to share information and answer each others questions about Palliative Drugs. Registration required.

Great for advocates, policy makers, journalistsCurrent awareness or alerting service via RSS or email.Therapeutics Initiative  The Therapeutics Initiative has been established in 1994 by the Department of Pharmacology and Therapeutics in cooperation with the Department of Family Practice at the University of British Columbia to provide physicians and pharmacists with up to date, evidence based, practical information on rational drug therapy. The Initiative is an independent organization, which is at arms length from government, pharmaceutical industry and other vested interest groups.