Skip to main content

Evidence Based Health Care (EBHC): Pediatrics

Resources for evidence based searching, evidence based practice skill development, and teaching EBHC

Resources

Quick or easy access to quality filtered or evidence based information Archimedes (Archives of Diseases in Childhood)  Archimedes Blog  Archives of Diseases in Childhood now provides a collection of evidence based appraisals using the "Best Bets" model. The blog allows readers to pose questions and comment on pediatric evidence based practice issues.

AAP clinical practice guidelines 

Clinical guideline resource Evidence-Based Guidelines, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital The pediatric evidence-based care guidelines developed at Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center are developed by experts, patients and families to help pediatricians provide the best possible care to patients. They cover general pediatrics, surgery, transplant, cardiology, occupational therapy, and physical therapy. [free access]

Quick or easy access to quality filtered or evidence based information Journal of Pediatrics Current Best Evidence Concise summaries of the best evidence for treatment and management of a variety of pediatric conditions, along with commentaries from experts to put this evidence into context. The goal is to help clinicians provide the highest quality care to the patients they serve. [free access]

Evidence based practice tools and calculatorsMedCalc 4.4  A useful calculator for common equations used in clinical medicine (including anesthesiology, pediatrics, emergency, intensive care and internal medicine). Also includes many common EBM equations.

National Institutes of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD) Cochrane Neonatal Resource for systematic reviews of child health topics.

Evidence based practice tools and calculators Pediatric Medical Equations, MedCalc 3000 Quickly access the pediatric-related content in MedCalc 3000, including medical equations, clinical criteria, decision trees, and unit and dose converters. CDC height and weight percentiles, infant length, weight, and head circumference percentiles, and blood pressure percentiles by age and height can be found here. Roll over Tools & Features, click MedCalc 3000, click Specialties, then Pediatrics.

Clinical guideline resource Subscription required Pediatric Practice Guidelines, MDConsult Pediatric clinical practice guidelines from organizations such as Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine, Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices, American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, and Pediatric Infectious Diseases Society. [subscription required, your URL may be different from ours]

Aids for building evidence based critical appraisal skillsPedsCCM Evidence-Based Medicine Resources  An online collection of resources and training tools for the pediatric professional.

Promising Practices  Operated by RAND, a national think tank PPN links to additional research information in all areas related to child well-being, including their physical and mental health, academic success, and economic security.

Great for advocates, policy makers, journalistsSUPPORT: SUPporting POlicy relevant Reviews and Trials SUPPORT provides focused, quality summaries of research to use for health policy making in the field of maternal and child health. SUPPORT also provides materials to facilitate the conduct of RCTs.

SUPPORT will develop a range of tools and workshops to improve the production and use of policy-relevant research in low and middle-income countries. The project builds on two existing networks with experience in research and linkage to policy-making, one in Latin America and one in sub-Saharan Africa.

Aids for building evidence based critical appraisal skillsSyllabi For Practising EBM These syllabi, taken from the book Evidence-Based Medicine: How to practice and teach EBM, include scenarios and teaching materials for a fourteen different fields, including general practice, geriatrics, physiotherapy, nursing, child health, complementary medicine, gastroenterology, or purchasing.

“What Works” for Child and Youth Development: Tools for Improving Services to Childen and Youth Child Trends Child Trend’s “What Works” guide provides interactive tables which illustrate what works and what does not work in improving outcomes for children and adolescents.