Skip to main content

Evidence Based Health Care (EBHC): Clinicians

Resources for evidence based searching, evidence based practice skill development, and teaching EBHC

Point of Care Evidence Based Decision Support

Current awareness or alerting service via RSS or email.Quick or easy access to quality filtered or evidence based informationSubscription requiredACP Journal Club - via ACP  Use your ACP member number to register for and use the website.

 

ACP Journal Club - via PubMed   Provides evidence based critical appraisals of research studies of clinical importance published in major medical journals. It is now a section of Annals of Internal Medicine, not a separate journal.  After clicking the link at the beginning of this section, add a topic, as in AND CABG.  

Quick or easy access to quality filtered or evidence based informationGreat for advocates, policy makers, journalistsAHRQ EPC Evidence Reports  Evidence Based Practice Centers review all relevant scientific literature on clinical, behavioral, and organization and financing topics to produce evidence reports and technology assessments. These reports are used for informing and developing coverage decisions, quality measures, educational materials and tools, guidelines, and research agendas. Over 150 reports on conditions and complementary medicine are available.  About 25 additional topics are currently in process.

Quick or easy access to quality filtered or evidence based informationCurrent awareness or alerting service via RSS or email.Archimedes (Archives of Diseases in Childhood)     Archimedes Blog  Archives of Diseases in Childhood now provides a collection of evidence based appraisals using the "Best Bets" model. The blog allows readers to pose questions and comment on pediatric evidence based practice issues.

Quick or easy access to quality filtered or evidence based informationATTRACT  ATTRACT is a rapid response service providing evidence based answers to clinical questions posed by primary care providers in the UK. New questions appear on the main page, or users may browse by medical subjects or search by keyword for a topic.

Quick or easy access to quality filtered or evidence based informationGreat for advocates, policy makers, journalists Current awareness or alerting service via RSS or email.Bandolier  Bulleted, easy to read reports on evidence of effects (or the lack of evidence).  There is a 4-6 month delay between the print publication and articles going online.  Subscribe to print for the most up to date information. 

Quick or easy access to quality filtered or evidence based informationGreat for advocates, policy makers, journalistsCurrent awareness or alerting service via RSS or email.CHAIN  Clinician-Consumer Health Advisory Information Network   CHAIN provides timely and practical information to health-care professionals, patients, family members, medical faculty, and others about emerging issues concerning the safe and effective use of drugs, devices, and biological products.

Quick or easy access to quality filtered or evidence based informationCurrent awareness or alerting service via RSS or email.Cleveland Clinic Disease Management   In this online medical textbook Cleveland Clinic physician authors provide recommendations for treating more than 150 commonly seen diseases in all major medical areas.

Quick or easy access to quality filtered or evidence based informationCurrent awareness or alerting service via RSS or email.DynaMed
With clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,000 topics,DynaMed is the only evidence-based reference shown to answer most clinical questions during practice. DynaMed is updated daily and monitors the content of over 500 medical journals and systematic evidence review databases directly and indirectly by using many journal review services. Each publication is reviewed cover-to-cover, and each article is evaluated for clinical relevance and scientific validity. The new evidence is then integrated with existing content, and overall conclusions are changed as appropriate representing a synthesis of the best available evidence. Through this process of systematic literature surveillance, the best available evidence determines the content of DynaMed. Online training is available, see: DynaMed - Basic SearchingDynaMed on a BlackBerryDynaMed on iPhone or iPod touch

Evidence Updates BMJ Publishing Group and McMaster University's Health Information Research Unit are collaborating to provide you with access to current best evidence from research, tailored to your own health care interests, to support evidence-based clinical decisions. All citations (from over 110 premier clinical journals) are pre-rated for quality by research staff, then rated for clinical relevance and interest by at least 3 members of worldwide panel of practicing physicians. Evidence Updates offer a searchable database of the best evidence from the medical literature, an email alerting system, links to selected evidence-Based resources.

Quick or easy access to quality filtered or evidence based informationCurrent awareness or alerting service via RSS or email.FIRSTConsult  Search fo topics or browse differential diagnoses, medical topics, procedures, or patient education information.  A symbol indicates when information is evidence based. 

 

FPIN Clinical Inquiries, PURLs, HelpDesk Answers, and eMedRef   The mission of the Family Practice Inquiries Network is to use information technology to translate research into practice, teach clinical scholarship, and generate research from practice. Clinical Inquiries and PURLs, written by FPIN member physicians and put through a rigourous editorial process, present evidence based answers to real world practice questions.

  • Quick or easy access to quality filtered or evidence based information Journal of Family Practice PURLs: Priority Updates from the Research Literature  The purpose of the Priority Updates from the Research Literature (PURL) system is to identify original research studies, systematic reviews, and meta-analyses that report findings that, if implemented in practice, would be expected to improve patient outcomes. The PURL methodology includes primary literature surveillance, secondary literature surveillance, critical appraisal, review of the literature, peer review, editorial review, and clinical review.

  • Quick or easy access to quality filtered or evidence based information American Family Physician - via Google   This link opens Google search results. To narrow the results, add yourtopic at the end of the search box, after the fpin site:www.aafp.org search strategy.
     

Quick or easy access to quality filtered or evidence based informationMDConsult   Click on login in the upper right. Comprehensive point of care resource combining access to medical news, basic clinical journals, textbooks, patient education materials, drug information, and CME opportunities.

Quick or easy access to quality filtered or evidence based informationCurrent awareness or alerting service via RSS or email.Medscape, formerly eMedicine   Physician produced, evidence based clinical knowledge resource.  Includes an image database and CME opportunities. Funded by pharmaceutical and medical device manufacturing companies. Register for your own account
Username:  ebhc11
Password:  ebhc11 

  Quick or easy access to quality filtered or evidence based informationMicromedex  Comprehensive drug information resource including major drug references and annotations written by PharmDs.

Morning Report Evidence Library  The MR. Evidence Library weblog facilitates EBM skillbuilding by taking real clinical questions and medical news items from morning report and linking them to pertinent studies and point-of-care tools.  Patient information is never disclosed and all topics are addressed in a general manner to protect patient privacy.

   Quick or easy access to quality filtered or evidence based informationMosby's Nursing Consult   Comprehensive point of care resource combining access to evidence based monographs, medical news, basic clinical journals, textbooks, patient education materials, drug information, and clinical updates.  Brochure

  Quick or easy access to quality filtered or evidence based information Current awareness or alerting service via RSS or email. Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database  The Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database provides up-to-date evidence based clinical data on natural medicines, herbal medicines, and dietary supplements used in the western world. The database is compiled by pharmacists and physicians who are part of the Pharmacist's Letter and Prescriber's Letter research and editorial staff.

- via Medlineplus (free version) The Medlineplus version is a free (taxpayer supported) consumer health information website hosted by the National Library of Medicine.

Quick or easy access to quality filtered or evidence based informationUpToDate

Essential Evidence Plus POEM of the Week Podcast

Loading