Skip to main content

Systematic Reviews and Searching the Literature: Where To Search

Resources and tips when preparing a systematic review or other reports that require a thorough search of the literature.

Must-Search Databases for Clinical Studies

  • Embase   Health sciences database with a slightly European perspective but overlaps with PubMed.  Good for drug information.  SCOPUS includes the Embase content but does not utitlize the search features of Embase.
  • Cochrane Library   Includes CENTRAL (Central Register of Controlled Trials), the largest database of controlled trials, and the Database of Systematic Reviews.

Databases of Published Works

 

  • Clinical studies
    • PubMed  or Ovid Medline Health sciences database
    • Embase   Health sciences database with a slightly European perspective but overlaps with PubMed.  Good for drug information
    • Cochrane Library   Includes CENTRAL (Central Register of Controlled Trials), the largest database of controlled trials, and the Database of Systematic Reviews.
    • CINAHL   Cummulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature.
    • PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database
    • AMED Alternative medicine and allied health.  Available via Ovid.
  • Biomedical
    • PubMed  or Ovid Medline Health sciences database.
    • Embase   Health sciences database with a slightly European perspective but overlaps with PubMed.  Good for drug information.

  • Health services research
    • PubMed  or Ovid Medline   Health sciences database
    • Embase   Health sciences database with a slightly European perspective but overlaps with PubMed.  Especially strong for drug information
    • Web of Science   Includes the Science Citation Index and the Social Science Citation Index.  Information on citing articles.
  • Health sciences education
  • Physical and social sciences
    • Web of Science   Includes the Science Citation Index and the Social Science Citation Index.  Information on citing articles.
    • IEEE Explore   Engineering database

Grey Literature

  • Conference Abstracts
    • Embase Health sciences database with a slightly European perspective but overlaps with PubMed. Especially strong for drug information
    • Web of Science Includes the Science Citation Index and the Social Science Citation Index. Information on citing articles.
    • Google Scholar

Request a Professional Literature Search

Learn more about the Professional Literature Search Service and request it here

Contact

Lilian Hoffecker
Research Librarian
303-724-2124
lilian.hoffecker@ucdenver.edu