Databases for Public Health
Hardin MD. University of Iowa A database of databases to find the best directories of information in the health and medical sciences. Includes many images.
HazDat (Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry) Hazardous Substance Release/Health Effects Database developed to provide access to information on the release of hazardous substances from Superfund sites or from emergency events and on the effects of hazardous substances on the health of human populations.
Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project A family of databases that brings together the efforts of State data organizations, hospital associations, private data organizations, and the Federal government to create a national information resource of patient-level health care.
MayoClinic.com A consumer health commercial database from the Mayo Clinic designed to empower people to manage their health. Provides useful and up-to-date information and tools on a variety of health related topics for all ages.
Medline Plus MedlinePlus brings together authoritative health information from government agencies and health-related organizations. Has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and the latest health news.
Native Health Database The Native Health Database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. Produced by the Univ. of New Mexico Health Sciences Library.
Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce T
ools and other resources for the public health workforce in information access and management, grant writing, needs assessment, and training; sponsoring meetings, workshops, and satellite broadcasts geared toward improving content of and access to information needed by public health professionals and the information professionals who work with them
PubMed (Medline) PubMed is a service of the National Library of Medicine that includes over 17 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Includes links to full text articles and other related resources.
TOXNET Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.