Skip to main content

Public Health: Health Data

Research in environmental/occupational epidemiology requires an interdisciplinary approach.

Health Data and Statistics

Health Information Technology and Standards

  • AHRQ National Resource Center for Health Information Technology - (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ))  - AHRQ initiative containing information on programs that promote the use of health information technology. Central repository for research findings from projects developing, testing, and using health IT applications.
  • ASTHO Meaningful Use Readiness Survey - (Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO))  - Results of 2010 survey of state public health agencies on their capability to accept data from electronic health records that are certified for meaningful use.
  • Center for Public Health Informatics - (University of Washington)  - The Center for Public Health Informatics is dedicated to providing an interdisciplinary environment that supports innovative research into information strategies and technologies to improve the health of the public.
  • Health Information Technology and Health Data Standards at NLM - (National Library of Medicine (NLM) U.S.)  - Describes the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) role in the development of health information technology (HIT) and data standards. Also provides links to additional federal resources in the areas of HIT and data standards.
  • The Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology (ONC) - (Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) U.S.)  - ONC's mission includes: Promoting development of a nationwide Health IT infrastructure that allows for electronic use and exchange of information that ensures secure and protected patient health information; improves health care quality; reduces health care costs; informs medical decisions at the time/place of car; includes meaningful public input in infrastructure development; and, improves coordination of care and information among hospitals, labs, physicians, etc.
  • Public Health Data Standards Consortium - (Public Health Data Standards Consortium (PHDSC))  - The Consortium is a standards oriented organization focused on representing the public health community at the principal standards development organizations and promoting the use of data and systems standards by the public health community.
  • Public Health Informatics Toolkit - (National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO))  - The toolkit provides access to public health informatics publications, tools, and resources to help local health departments plan and implement public health informatics projects.

Training Opportunities

Health Statistics

  • AgingStats.gov Reports - (Federal Interagency Forum on Aging-Related Statistics USA)  - Statistical reports on the health and economic status of older Americans.
  • AHRQ Data & Surveys - (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ))  - Provides access to AHRQ data sources.
  • America's Health Rankings - (United Health Foundation)  - Provides a comprehensive perspective on national health issues, state by state. The rankings feature an interactive map to explore health statistics and compare states side-by-side.
  • Cancer Trends Progress Report - (National Cancer Institute, NIH (NCI))  - Summarizes progress in the U.S. against cancer in relation to Healthy People 2010 targets set forth by the Department of Health and Human Services. The report includes key measures of progress along the cancer control continuum and uses national trend data to illustrate where advancements have been made.
  • CDC Data and Statistics - (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC))  - Provides access to CDC data and statistics including national surveys, surveillance resources, and vital records.
  • Child Health USA - (Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA))  - Annual report on the health status and service needs of America's children. The report is a compilation of secondary data for many health status indicators, and provides both graphical and textual summaries of data and addresses long-term trends.
  • ChildStats.gov: America's Children Reports - (Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics)  - Reports on the condition of children in America that groups federal statistics on children and youth under several domains: family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education, and health.
  • Chronic Disease GIS Exchange - (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC))  - The Chronic Disease Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Exchange allows users to visualize and interpret data patterns and uncover new relationships and trends in preventing heart disease, stroke, and other chronic diseases.
  • European Health For All Database (HFA-DB) - (World Health Organization (WHO))  - Contains data on about 600 health indicators for Member States of the WHO European Region, including basic demographic and socioeconomic indicators; lifestyle- and environment-related indicators; mortality, morbidity and disability; hospital discharges; and health care resources, utilization and expenditure. The database is a helpful tool for international comparison and for assessing the health situation and trends in any European country in an international context.
  • FastStats A-Z - (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC))  - The FastStats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.
  • Finding and Using Health Statistics: A Self-Study Course - (National Library of Medicine, National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology)  - This online course describes the range of available health statistics and presents strategies to successfully find health statistics.
  • Global Health Observatory (GHO) - (World Health Organization (WHO))  - WHO's gateway to health-related statistics from around the world. GHO covers global health priorities such as the health-related Millennium Development Goals, women and health, mortality and burden of disease, disease outbreaks, health equity, and health systems.
  • GlobalHealthFacts.org - (Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation (KFF))  - Global data on HIV/AIDS, malaria, TB and other key health and socio-economic indicators. The data are displayed in tables, charts, and color-coded maps and can be downloaded for custom analyses.
  • Health Statistics on the Web: It's as Easy as…1,2,3! - (National Network of Libraries of Medicine (NN/LM))  - Course materials for a hands-on course that focuses on the location, selection, and effective use of statistics relevant to health on the local, state, national, and international levels.
  • Health, United States - (National Center for Health Statistics, CDC (NCHS))  - Annual report on trends in health statistics. The report consists of a chartbook that illustrates major trends in the health of Americans, and a trend tables section of detailed data tables. Refer to Appendix I for data sources.
  • HealthMap - Global disease alert map that brings together disparate data sources for a comprehensive view of the current global state of infectious diseases and their effect on human and animal health. Data is aggregated by disease and displayed by location with links to disease alerts.
  • HHS Gateway to Data and Statistics - (HHS Data Council, Department of Health and Human Services)  - Web-based tool that provides access to HHS data and statistics and also brings together key federal health and human services related data and statistics from other sources.
  • HRSA Data Warehouse - (Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA))  - Provides access to information about HRSA programs and related health resources including data on health professional shortage areas, medically underserved areas, and primary care service areas.
  • National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) - (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC))  - The Nation's principal health statistics agency that compiles statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve public health. NCHS provides access to data, reports, surveys, and tools.
  • National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) - (National Center for Health Statistics, CDC (NCHS))  - The National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) provides data on a broad range of health topics that are collected through personal household interviews.
  • National Program of Cancer Registries (NPCR) - (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC))  - Data collected by regional and state cancer registries. This site provides access to U.S. Cancer Statistics (USCS), the official federal statistics on cancer incidence from registries that have high-quality data and cancer mortality statistics.
  • PAHO Health Data - (Pan American Health Organization (PAHO))  - Health data and statistics for countries of the Americas.
  • SEER (Surveillance Epidemiology and End Results) - (National Cancer Institute, NIH (NCI))  - Cancer statistics in the United States. SEER collects information on incidence, survival, and prevalence from specific geographic areas representing 26 percent of the US population and compiles reports on all of these plus cancer mortality for the entire US.
  • Substance Abuse and Mental Health Statistics - (Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA))  - National data on alcohol, tobacco, and illicit drug use. Also included are data on mental health topics including depression, serious psychological distress, and suicidal thoughts and attempts.
  • Summary of Notifiable Diseases - (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC))  - Statistical summary of notifiable diseases compiled from reports of the National Notifiable Diseases Surveillance System (NNDSS). The publication contains text, graphs, and maps for the reported occurrence of diseases for the designated year.
  • Youth Violence: National Statistics - (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC))  - National statistics on youth homicide and non-fatal assault-related injury rates.

National Public Health Data Sets

  • American Fact Finder - (U.S. Census Bureau)  - An interactive database that is searchable for data from multiple data sources
  • Atlas of Rural and Small-Town America - (United States Department of Agriculture (USDA))  - This Internet-based information system allows one to manipulate various socioeconomic data series used in many Economic Resource Service (ERS) products. Use the interactive tools to create and manipulate charts, maps, and tables-including multidimensional tables, such as poverty rates by metro/nonmetro status.
  • Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) - (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC))  - State-based system of health surveys that collects information on health risk behaviors, preventive health practices, and health care access primarily related to chronic disease and injury.
  • Catalogue of Surveillance Systems - (National Collaborative on Childhood Obesity Research (NCCOR))  - Resource to help researchers and practitioners more easily investigate childhood obesity in America. The catalogue describes and provides access to surveillance systems (national, state, local) that collect data related to childhood obesity.
  • CDC Data and Statistics - (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC))  - Provides access to CDC data and statistics including national surveys, surveillance resources, and vital records.
  • CDC Wonder - (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC))  - Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research. Access statistical research data published by CDC; Public-use data sets about deaths, cancer incidence, HIV and AIDS, tuberculosis, vaccinations, births, census data and many other topics are available for query.
  • Child Trends Data Bank - (Child Trends)  - National trend data and research on over 100 key indicators of child and youth well-being.
  • Data Resource Center for Child & Adolescent Health - (Child and Adolescent Health Measurement Initiative (CAHMI))  - Allows users to search and display charts and tabular findings from individual survey items as well as derived key child health measures from the National Survey of Children's Health (NSCH) and the National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs (NS-CSHCN). The user-friendly site can display state profiles, rankings, and information for key demographic groups (e.g., child's age, sex, race and ethnicity, household income, insurance status and type).
  • DATA.gov - (General Services Administration (GSA) U.S.)  - Provides access to datasets generated by the Federal Government and includes descriptions of the datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets.
  • DATA2010 - (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC))  - An interactive database system developed by staff of the Division of Health Promotion Statistics at the National Center for Health Statistics that contains the most recent monitoring data for tracking Healthy People 2010.
  • Growing Older in America: The Health and Retirement Study - (National Institute on Aging (NIA))  - Report published in 2007 with data and information from the longitudinal Health and Retirement Study. Includes data on health, work and retirement, income and wealth, and family characteristics and intergenerational transfers.
  • HCUPnet - (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ))  - A free, on-line query system based on Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) data - provides access to health statistics and information on hospital stays at the National, regional, and State level.
  • Health Data Interactive - (National Center for Health Statistics, CDC (NCHS))  - Tables with national health statistics for infants, children, adolescents, adults, and older adults. Tables can be customized by age, gender, race/ethnicity, and geographic location to explore different trends and patterns.
  • Health Indicators Warehouse (HIW) - (Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) U.S.)  - The Health Indicators Warehouse serves as the data hub for the HHS Community Health Data Initiative by providing a single source for national, state, and community health indicators.
  • Health Information National Trends Survey (HINTS) - (National Cancer Institute, NIH (NCI))  - Nationally representative telephone survey of the general population to evaluate how the general public accesses and uses information about cancer, and how this information can be delivered most effectively.
  • Health, United States - (National Center for Health Statistics, CDC (NCHS))  - Annual report on trends in health statistics. The report consists of a chartbook that illustrates major trends in the health of Americans, and a trend tables section of detailed data tables. Refer to Appendix I for data sources.
  • Health-Related Quality of Life - (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC))  - Health-Related Quality of Life (HRQOL) data can be used to track population health in states and communities, to measure the burden of chronic and infectious diseases in different populations, and to measure the effects of short- and long-term disabilities. Visitors to the website can use query-based application to examine population HRQOL trends by year and state, sex, age and race/ethnicity.
  • HHS Gateway to Data and Statistics - (HHS Data Council, Department of Health and Human Services)  - Web-based tool that provides access to HHS data and statistics and also brings together key federal health and human services related data and statistics from other sources.
  • HRSA Data Warehouse - (Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA))  - Provides access to information about HRSA programs and related health resources including data on health professional shortage areas, medically underserved areas, and primary care service areas.
  • Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS) Data Sets - (Minnesota Population Center, University of Minnesota US)  - Population databases that include IPUMS - USA, data on people in the U.S. census and American Community Survey; IPUMS-CPS, data on people in the Current Population Survey; the North American Population Project (NAPP); the National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS); and the Integrated Health Interview Survey (IHIS), an integrated version of the U.S. National Health Interview Survey.
  • Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS) - (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ))  - The Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS) is a set of large-scale surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers, and employers across the United States. MEPS is the most complete source of data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage.
  • Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS) Statistical Briefs - (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ))  - MEPS Statistical Briefs are easy-to-read, quick graphical summaries of MEPS data very much like MEPS Highlights. These statistical brief are only available on the MEPS website.
  • Medicare Current Beneficiary Survey - (Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS))  - The Medicare Current Beneficiary Survey, or MCBS, is a survey of a nationally representative sample of aged, disabled, and institutionalized Medicare beneficiaries.
  • MEPSnet Query Tools - (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ))  - Provides easy access to Medical Expenditure Survey Panel statistics on health care use, expenditures, sources of payment, and insurance coverage.
  • National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) - (National Center for Health Statistics, CDC (NCHS))  - The National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) data provide a snapshot of the health and nutritional status of the U.S. population. NHANES collects extensive health information from both face-to-face interviews and medical examinations. Data from NHANES surveys provide opportunities to study major nutrition, infection, environmental, and chronic health conditions in the U.S.
  • National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs Data Resource Center - (Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration (MCHB))  - The Data Resource Center website delivers hands-on access to national, state and regional data from the National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs (NS-CSHCN) - the first-ever survey of families sponsored by the federal Maternal and Child Health Bureau.
  • National Survey of Children's Health (NSCH) Data Resource Center - (Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration (MCHB))  - The Data Resource Center website delivers hands-on access to national, state, and regional data from the National Survey of Children's Health (NSCH) - the second survey of families sponsored by the federal Maternal and Child Health Bureau designed to complement the 2001 National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs by providing data on the health and well-being of the general child population.
  • NHQRDRNet Online Query System - (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ))  - Online query system that allows you to access national and state data on the quality of, and access to, health care from scientifically credible measures and data sources. This is an interactive tool to explore data from the National Healthcare Quality & Disparities Reports.
  • Substance Abuse and Mental Health Statistics - (Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA))  - National data on alcohol, tobacco, and illicit drug use. Also included are data on mental health topics including depression, serious psychological distress, and suicidal thoughts and attempts.
  • TOXMAP - (National Library of Medicine, Specialized Information Services Division)  - Creates nationwide and local area maps to show the amount and location of toxic chemicals released into the environment. Data is derived from the EPA's Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) which provides information on the releases of toxic chemicals into the environment as reported annually by industrial facilities around the United States.
  • WebMIRS - (National Library of Medicine (NLM) U.S.)  - A graphical Java program providing access to the NHANES II & III databases of medical survey data and x-ray images.
  • Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS) - (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC))  - The Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS) monitors priority health-risk behaviors and the prevalence of obesity and asthma among youth and young adults.

State and Local Public Health Data Sets

  • AAPR's State Data Center - (AARP)  - The AARP Public Policy Institute analyzes and publishes a wide range of state-specific data related to Americans over 50
  • America's Health Rankings - (United Health Foundation)  - Provides a comprehensive perspective on national health issues, state by state. The rankings feature an interactive map to explore health statistics and compare states side-by-side.
  • Area Resource File - (Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA))  - The Area Resource File is a collection of data from more than 50 sources.
  • Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) - (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC))  - State-based system of health surveys that collects information on health risk behaviors, preventive health practices, and health care access primarily related to chronic disease and injury.
  • California Health Interview Survey (CHIS) - (National Cancer Institute, NIH (NCI))  - Provides public health information for California's diverse population. Results on a variety of health topics are produced for the entire state and most counties.
  • CHARTing Health Information for Texas - Provides a comprehensive collection of links to publicly available, localized or geographically discreet health data, community characteristics data and sociodemographic data for the state of Texas.
  • Children of Immigrants Data Tool - (Urban Institute (UI))  - Generate charts on the characteristics of children, age 0 to 17, for the United States and for the 50 states and the District of Columbia. Data come from the 2005 and 2006 American Community Survey.
  • CLIKS: Community-Level Information on Kids - This website brings together data on the well-being of children collected by KIDS COUNT grantees from state and local sources. The unique system allows users to access state-specific inventories of data from local sources, such as health departments, human services agencies, and schools.
  • Community Health Status Indicators (CHSI) - (Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) U.S.)  - County-specific data and reports on health status indicators. States and counties can use the indicators to check county health status in comparison to Healthy People 2010 targets, compare one's county to peers and the U.S., and characterize the overall health of the county and its citizens to support health planning.
  • County Health Rankings - (Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF), University of Wisconsin)  - Provides county-by-county health rankings in each of the 50 states, explanations of each health factor, and actionable strategies to improve the health of communities across the nation.
  • Data Resource Center for Child & Adolescent Health - (Child and Adolescent Health Measurement Initiative (CAHMI))  - Allows users to search and display charts and tabular findings from individual survey items as well as derived key child health measures from the National Survey of Children's Health (NSCH) and the National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs (NS-CSHCN). The user-friendly site can display state profiles, rankings, and information for key demographic groups (e.g., child's age, sex, race and ethnicity, household income, insurance status and type).
  • Diversitydata.org - (Center for Advancing Health USA, Harvard School of Public Health)  - Diversitydata.org allows visitors to explore how metropolitan areas throughout the U.S. perform on a diverse range of social measures that comprise a well-rounded life experience. The site provides access to socioeconomic indicators for metropolitan areas in the form of tables, thematic maps, and customizable reports.
  • EPICenter - California Injury Data Online - (California Department of Health)  - (California Department of Health) Interactive website with fatal and nonfatal injury data for California residents beginning in 1991.
  • EpiQMS - (Pennsylvania Department of Health)  - the Epidemiologic Query and Mapping System (EpiQMS) is an interactive health statistics web site that can produce numbers, rates, graphs, charts, maps, and county profiles using various demographic variables (age, sex, race, etc.) from birth, death, cancer and population datasets for the state of PA and its counties.
  • Florida CHARTS - Florida Public Health Statistics - (Florida Department of Health)  - Provides access to Florida's health data at the community and statewide level including access to over 2,000 health indicators, county and state profile reports, county and census tract level maps, and queriable data access.
  • Kaiser state health facts - Provides free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data on all 50 states. Statehealthfacts.org provides data on more than 450 health topics and is linked to both the Kaiser Family Foundation website (www.kff.org) and KaiserNetwork.org (www.kaisernetwork.org).
  • KIDS COUNT State-Level Data Online - (Annie E. Casey Foundation)  - State-level data for over 100 measures of child well-being, including all the measures regularly used in the KIDS COUNT Data Book and The Right Start for America's Newborns. The online database allows you to generate custom reports for a geographic area (Profiles) or to compare geographic areas on a topic.
  • Missouri Information for Community Assessment - (Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services)  - MICA (Missouri Information for Community Assessment) is an interactive, intervention planning system for public health practitioners and community stakeholders. MICA has three primary tools: Data MICA (data and statistics for needs assessment); Priorities MICA (facts and figures to guide priority-setting); and Intervention MICA (information, tools and resources for intervention design, implementation, and evaluation).
  • National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs Data Resource Center - (Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration (MCHB))  - The Data Resource Center website delivers hands-on access to national, state and regional data from the National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs (NS-CSHCN) - the first-ever survey of families sponsored by the federal Maternal and Child Health Bureau.
  • National Survey of Children's Health (NSCH) Data Resource Center - (Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration (MCHB))  - The Data Resource Center website delivers hands-on access to national, state, and regional data from the National Survey of Children's Health (NSCH) - the second survey of families sponsored by the federal Maternal and Child Health Bureau designed to complement the 2001 National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs by providing data on the health and well-being of the general child population.
  • New Hampshire Health Data Inventory - (New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services, New Hampshire Institute for Health Policy and Practice)  - Inventory of New Hampshire health data sources and reports.
  • North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics - (North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics (SCHS))  - The State Center for Health Statistics is committed to supplying health statistics which can inform state and county health policies and programs.
  • Pennsylvania Health Care Cost Containment Council - An independent state agency responsible for addressing the problem of escalating health costs, ensuring the quality of health care, and increasing access for all citizens regardless of ability to pay.
  • PeriStats - Developed by the March of Dimes Perinatal Data Center with funding from the National Institutes of Health, PeriStats provides free access to maternal & infant health-related data at the U.S., state, county, and city level.
  • Public Health Snapshots by State - (National Association of Local Boards of Health (NALBOH))  - Compilation of public health data for each state including education and training sources, community health statistics, public health partnerships, board of health state statutes, and more.
  • Quick Health Data Online - (Office on Women's Health, HHS (OWH))  - National, regional, state and county data are available by gender, race, ethnicity, and age. You can make your own custom tables, graphs, and maps.
  • Safety Net Monitoring - (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ))  - Baseline data and tools to help monitor the status of local safety nets in providing health care to low-income and other vulnerable populations.
  • SNAPS: Snap Shots of State Population Data - (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC))  - SNAPS provides local-level community profile information nationwide. It can be browsed by county and state and searched by zip code. SNAPS serves as a valuable tool when responding to public health emergency events at the state, Tribal, and local levels.
  • State Cancer Profiles - (National Cancer Institute, NIH (NCI))  - Descriptive cancer statistics to help prioritize cancer control efforts. The focus is on cancer sites for which there are known, preventable risk factors or screening tests for early detection and effective treatment options.
  • State Data Resources - (Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) U.S.)  - Links to individual state health data sources.