Skip to main content

Mentored Scholarly Activity Guide (MSA): Books for the SOM Mentored Scholarly Activity

If you want information about the MSA program, please see the main program page.

Books for the SOM Mentored Scholarly Activity

Rare books from the National Library of Medicine can be viewed via Turning the Pages, an online resource that uses 3D imaging to enhance the online enjoyment of the collection. Select titles are available for iPad viewing.  

 

A beginner's guide to microarrays / edited by Eric M. Blalock. Boston: Kluwer Academic Publishers, c2003. HSL General Collection/Third Floor QU 58.5 B417 2003

Cambridge dictionary of statistics / B.S. Everitt. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2002. HSL General Collection/Third Floor QA 276.14 E934c 2002

Clinical epidemiology: the essentials / Robert H. Fletcher, Suzanne W. Fletcher. Publisher Baltimore: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, c2005. HSL General Collection/Third Floor WA 950 F614c 2005

Clinical research for health professionals: a user-friendly guide / Mitchell Batavia. Boston: Butterworth-Heinemann, c2001. HSL General Collection/Third Floor WB 25 B328 2001

Designing and conducting health surveys: a comprehensive guide / Lu Ann Aday, Llewellyn J. Cornelius; foreword by Steven B. Cohen. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, c2006. HSL General Collection/Third Floor WA 20.5 A221d 2006

Designing clinical research / Stephen B. Hulley... [et al.]. Philadelphia: Wolters Kluwer Health/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, c2007. HSL General Collection/Third Floor WA 950 D457 2007

Encyclopedia of statistical sciences / editors-in-chief, Samuel Kotz, Norman L. Johnson; associate editor, Campbell B. Read. New York: Wiley, c1982-c1988 HSL Reference / 1st Floor QA 276.14 E56 1982

Epidemiology: beyond the basics / Moyses Szklo, F. Javier Nieto. Sudbury, Mass.: Jones and Bartlett Publishers, c2007. HSL General Collection/Third Floor WA 950 S998e 2007

Health measurement scales: a practical guide to their development and use / David L. Streiner and Geoffrey R. Norman. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, c2003. HSL General Collection/Third Floor WA 950 S915h 2003

How to report statistics in medicine: annotated guidelines for authors, editors, and reviewers / Thomas A. Lang, Michelle Secic; with a foreword by Edward J. Huth. Philadelphia, Pa.: American College of Physicians, c1997. HSL General Collection/Third Floor T 11 L269h 1997

Human genome epidemiology: a scientific foundation for using genetic information to improve health and prevent disease / edited by Muin J. Khoury, Julian Little, Wylie Burke. New York: Oxford University Press, 2004. HSL General Collection/Third Floor QZ 50 H91815 2004

Infectious disease epidemiology: theory and practice / [edited by] Kenrad E. Nelson, Carolyn F. Masters Williams. Publisher Sudbury, Mass.: Jones and Bartlett Publishers, c2007. HSL General Collection/Third Floor WC 100 I4311 2007

Introduction to epidemiology. Sudbury, Mass.: Jones and Bartlett Publishers, c2006. HSL General Collection/Third Floor WA 950 T584i 2006

Medical statistics: a guide to data analysis and critical appraisal / Jennifer Peat, Belinda Barton; foreword by Martin Bland. Malden, Mass.; Oxford: Blackwell Pub., 2005. HSL General Collection/Third Floor WA 950 P363m 2005

Qualitative research in health care / edited by Catherine Pope, Nicholas Mays. Malden, Mass.: Blackwell Pub./BMJ Books, 2006. HSL General Collection/Third Floor W 84.3 Q18 2006

Qualitative interviewing: the art of hearing data / Herbert J. Rubin, Irene S. Rubin. Publisher Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage Publications, c2005. HSL General Collection/Third Floor H 61.28 R896i 2005

Research proposals: a guide to success / Thomas E. Ogden, Israel A. Goldberg. San Diego, Calif.: Academic Press, c2002. HSL General Collection/Third Floor W 20.5 O34r 2002

Research techniques for the health sciences / James J. Neutens, Laurna Rubinson. San Francisco: Benjamin Cummings, c2002. HSL General Collection/Third Floor W 20.5 N497r 2002

Statistics at square two: understanding modern statistical applications in medicine / M.J. Campbell. London: BMJ Books, c2001. HSL General Collection/Third Floor WA 950 C189s 2001

Study design and statistical analysis: a practical guide for clinicians / Mitchell Katz. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, c2006. HSL General Collection/Third Floor W 20.5 K255s 2006

Studying a study and testing a test: how to read the medical evidence / Richard K. Riegelman. Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, c2005. HSL General Collection/Third Floor WA 950 R554s 2005

Subject Guide