Skip to main content

Mentored Scholarly Activity Guide (MSA): Bioethics, Humanities, Art & Education

If you want information about the MSA program, please see the main program page.

Bioethics, Humanities, Art & Education

  • Colorado's Historic Newspaper Collection  
  • Defining Gender, 1450-1910 Type in a topic and click on "Digital Images" in the "Search For" menu.  Images are available for purchase in a variety of formats.
  • EBSCO  
  • Eighteenth Century Journals II 
  • EMBASE 
  • Empire Online  
  • ERIC Educational Resources Information Center.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch: A History (ENWH) 
  • ETHXWeb The Georgetown University Kennedy Institute of Ethics offers this resource site and the National Reference Center for Bioethics Literature.  A topic search will retrieve  journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, books, audiovisuals, and news articles relating to bioethics and professional ethics.
  • Everyday Life and Women in America 1820-1900 
  • Expanded Academic ASAP 
  • HAPI (Health and Psychosocial Instruments) (from Ovid) [Limited to one concurrent user.]
  • INFOTRAC 
  • LegalTrac 
  • Macmillan Cabinet Papers, 1957-1963 
  • Madness and Literature Network Literature can offer many valuable and sometimes contrasting insights into experiences of madness. The Madness and Literature Network aims to stimulate cooperation and co-working between researchers, academics, clinicians, service users, carers and creative writers in order to develop an interdisciplinary, global dialogue about the issues raised around representations of madness in literature. literary research has become a key resource for the advancement of medical and health professionals’ education, affording broader perspectives, critical thinking skills and promoting an emotionally receptive or empathic climate for clinical practice.
  • Medical Humanities This web resource was established in 1994 at New York University School of Medicine,  for scholars, educators, students, patients, and others who are interested in the work of medical humanities.  Medical Humanities is an interdisciplinary field of humanities (literature, philosophy, ethics, history and religion), social science (anthropology, cultural studies, psychology, sociology), and the arts (literature, theater, film, and visual arts) applied to medical education and practice. The humanities and arts provide insight into the human condition, suffering, personhood, our responsibility to each other, and offer a historical perspective on medical practice.
    The website includes an index to literature related to the medical humanites and access to an online research community through a Listserv, alerts and news via a weblog, and a clearinghouse listing researchers, syllabi, and programs offering study of the Medical Humanities. 
    Blogs: 
  • NLM History of Medicine Many online digital resources, including images, are available through the History of Medicine Division of the National Library of Medicine. This research center collects, preserves, interprets, and presents materials documenting the history of medicine, biomedical science, health and disease in all time periods and cultures. It provides researchers and the public with access to manuscripts, books, photographs, films and other historical resources. The Division promotes, conducts, and facilitates scholarly research and public education through seminars, lectures, exhibitions, film programs, Web sites, databases, publications, catalogues, and finding guides.
  • PsycINFO (from Ovid)
  • PubMed (Medline) PubMed is a service of the National Library of Medicine that includes over 17 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Includes links to full text articles and other related resources.
  • Web of Science 

Subject Guide

Blog

Literature, Arts, and Medicine Blog:

This blog is linked to and is an extension of The NYU School of Medicine medical humanities web site and the Literature, Arts, and Medicine Database. It is intended to be a forum for scholarly discussion of ongoing projects in medical, nursing, premedical, graduate, and postgraduate education and research that use the humanities, social sciences, and the arts to address current issues in medicine and bioscience- from a variety of perspectives.

Loading