This is the "Top Apps" page of the "Mobile App Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
CU Health Sciences LibraryCU Health Sciences Library CU Anschutz Medical Campus A-Z Index My Library Account Canvas Web Mail Office 365 Email UCD Access HTML Map

Mobile apps for healthcare professionals
Last Updated: May 29, 2014 URL: http://hslibraryguides.ucdenver.edu/apps Print Guide RSS Updates

Top Apps Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

The Mobile Technology Guide provides information for mobile device users of the University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus (UCD-AMC).  Resources featured here include "apps" as well as "moblized" websites and work with a variety of devices including the iPhone, iPad, and Droid. While most of these applications and websites are accessible to anyone, the guide also includes links to and information about several subscription databases available only to primary affiliated UCD-AMC students, staff and faculty.  These restricted resources are noted as "UCD-AMC only" and the user must log in with his/her name and institutional ID for off-campus access.

UptoDate Anywhere

Q Can I use the UptoDate Mobile App to access the UptoDate subscription?

Updated: Apr 08, 2014

Topics:

A

Yes, students, faculty and staff affiliated with the University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campas can download and use the mobile app for the UptoDate database/subscription.

What do you need to do to begin using the UptoDate Mobile App?

  1. You need to connect to UptoDate via the Health Sciences Library website and use the upper right corner "Log In / Register" button to create an account.
  2. Once you have an account, you can download and install the UptoDate Mobile App from your app store.  You may use/have the app on 2 mobile devices - iPhone, Android or Windows 8.
  3. Use the login/password combination you created when registering on the library website to begin using your mobile app.

Is there a catch to this access?

Yes, UptoDate requires that every 30 days you go back to the library website - UptoDate - to access and revalidate your affiliation with the Anschutz Medical Campus by logging in to UptoDate on the website.  You will receive prompts / ticklers / reminders from your mobile app to do this.

If you need more information than this, check out the UpToDate App page.

Recommended Health Resources


Archimedes 360°™ Medical CalculatorArchimedes  Medical calculator database.  Includes many common calculations including drug dosing.

 Optimized for: iPhone/iPod/iPad, Android, and BlackBerry. You must register (free) with SkyScape in order to access this resource.


 BrowZine UCD-AMC only. App that can help you stay current with academic journals. After downloading the free BrowZine app select our institution: University of Colorado Health Sciences Library and enter your usual library login credentials. Authentication FAQs.
The library only subscribes to the iOS version of this resource at this time. Reviews


 Cell Press Journal Reader. UCD-AMC only
1. Create your own account: www.sciencedirect.com/science/newregistration. Make sure that the email address you use is your ucdenver.edu address.
2. Choose either mobile web app (does not require installation) or download app from iTunes for iPad or iPhone. Requires iOS 6+. FAQs


CINAHL UCD-AMC only. Simplified search engine for the CINAHL database (Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health).

Apps are available for iPhone/iPod/iPad or Android devices.


Dynamed Dynamed  UCD-AMC only. Evidence-based, point of care clinical database with disease and drug information. To install to your mobile device, you must: 

1. request a serial ID by sending an email using your university email account to Heidi Zuniga (heidi.zuniga@ucdenver.edu), making sure DYNAMED is in the subject line of the request
2. download Skyscape and create an account.  Once you receive the serial ID, install the app on your phone and access Dynamed.  See also EBSCO Support for help.

ID Expiration: The ID number will expire after one year. Please request a new ID (repeat step 1 above) at that time.

Supports: Windows Smartphones, BlackBerry, iPhone/iPod Touch/iPad, Android, Palms, Pocket PC. See EBSCO support for details.


Icon: Rx Epocrates Rx  Drug database with medical calculator. iPhone version includes Pill ID. Go here for Installation instructions.


First ConsultFirst Consult UCD-AMC only. Evidence-based, point of care clinical database.
For Mobile App:
1. Access First Consult from the library's website as you normally would.
2. Click on "Create an Account" in the top right
3. Complete the registration form, create a username and password, click "Submit" and log out
4. Search the App store for "First Consult" When prompted, login using your newly created personal login or visit this link

App Supports: iPhone/iPod Touch/iPad 


 Isabel dx  UCD-AMC, UCH only. Diagnosis checklist system that is also integrated into the Dynamed platform. Available for iOS and Android.
Note: For required username and password, please contact heidi.zuniga@ucdenver.edu using your ucdenver.edu email address. Please use Isabel app in the subject line.


MD Consult Mobile  UCD-AMC Only. Mobile-device enabled version of MD Consult. 

1. Access MD Consultt from the library's website as you normally would.
2. Click on "Create an Account" in the top right
3. Complete the registration form, create a username and password, click "Submit" and log out
4. Log into MD Consult Mobile by visiting http://mobile.mdconsult.com from a mobile browser
Note: Users must log out of MD Consult on the workstation before logging into their phone. More information here.


CU Health Sciences Library Mobile Mobile Health Sciences Library  Simplified HSL website for the mobile device.


Micromedex mobileMicromedex - Drugs and Interactions  UCD-AMC only. Drug reference.  Note:  The Micromedex Drug Information App is free from the iTunes store. It contains summary information. The Drug Interactions App is available free for our faculty, staff and students with the password Micromedex provides. You must access the Micromedex page through the library's website, (if you are off campus, you will authenticate with your usual username and password) then click on mobileMicromedex in the upper left corner and continue with the directions they provide. Please see this guide for more assistance.

Password expiration: When your current password nears expiration, the app will remind you to enter a new one. When that happens, return to the HSL Micromedex page and obtain the new password. Help

App Supports: iPhone/iPod Touch/iPad and Android. Mobile site: iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch, Android and BlackBerry


National Library of Medicine Mobile Sites National Library of Medicine Gallery of Mobile Apps and Sites. Links to TOXNET, PubMed Mobile, LactMed App and many more.


National Library of Medicine Mobile SitesNational Library of Medicine (NLM) Drug Information Portal. Mobile optimized web site that covers over 32,000 drugs and provides descriptions, drug names, pharmaceutical categories, and structural diagrams. 


 Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database. Scientific clinical information on complementary, alternative, and integrative therapies. To download app, first access this database from an on-campus computer and request a CE ID # by clicking "I don't have a CE ID#" in the yellow CE login box.  You will be asked to fill out a form.  NOTE: the last 4 digits of your SSN can be replaced by ANY four digits; these numbers will form the CE ID#.  Once you have the number, download the app. Tap the app icon and when it asks for login information, use your CE ID # as the Username but leave the Password field blank.
Apple: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/id512681918?mt=8
Google Play: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=trc.nmcd


 Pocket Medical Spanish by Epocrates.  Includes common healthcare phrases with audio playback.


 STAT!Ref Mobile UCD-AMC, UCH, TCH only. STAT!Ref has two mobile options: a free app or the mobile-device enabled website. 

      
     

    Contact

    Heidi Zuniga
    Electronic Resources Librarian
    303-724-2134
    heidi.zuniga@ucdenver.edu

    Lilian Hoffecker
    Research Librarian
    303-724-2124
    lilian.hoffecker@ucdenver.edu

     

    Device User Guides

    Health Sciences Library | University of Colorado Denver
    Mail Stop A003, 12950 E. Montview Blvd., Aurora, CO 80045, USA Tel: 303-724-2152
    Ask Us
    Tell Us
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip