- CDC Stacks is a free, digital archive of scientific research and literature produced by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). This online archive is composed of curated collections tailored for public health research needs. This repository is retained indefinitely and is available for public health professionals, researchers, as well as the general public.
- Grey Literature Report is a bimonthly publication of The New York Academy of Medicine (NYAM) alerting readers to new grey literature publications in health services research and selected public health topics. The database platform is keyword searchable and serves as an archive for the cataloged reports. Priority areas: Health Policy, Healthy Aging, Prevention, Eliminating Health Disparities, Engaging Communities, Global Health.
- Kaiser Family Foundation is a non-profit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. Serves as a non-partisan source of facts, analysis and journalism for policymakers, the media, the health policy community and the public.
- OpenGrey is a multidisciplinary European database covering science, technology, biomedical science, economics, social science, and humanities. Includes technical or research reports, doctoral dissertations, conference papers, official publications.
- POPLINE contains the world’s most comprehensive collection of population, family planning and related reproductive health and development literature. An international resource, POPLINE helps program managers, policy makers, and service providers in low- and middle-income countries and in development-supportive agencies and organizations gain access to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished document.
- Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.
Disaster Medicine and Public Health
Resources for the 10 Essential Services of Public Health
#1: Monitor health status to identify and solve community health problems: This service includes accurate diagnosis of the community’s health status through timely collection, analysis, and publication of information on access, utilization, costs, and outcomes of personal health services.
#2: Diagnose and investigate health problems and health hazards in the community: This service includes epidemiologic identification of emerging health threats and technical capacity for epidemiologic investigation of disease outbreaks and patterns of chronic disease and injury.
#3: Inform, educate, and empower people about health issues: This service involves social marketing and targeted media public communication to reinforce health promotion messages and programs.
#4: Mobilize community partnerships and action to identify and solve health problems: This service involves skilled coalition-building to draw upon the full range of potential human and material resources in the cause of community health.
#5: Develop policies and plans that support individual and community health efforts: This service requires development of codes, regulations and legislation to guide the practice of public health.
#6: Enforce laws and regulations that protect health and ensure safety: This service involves full enforcement of sanitary codes, especially in the food industry; full protection of drinking water supplies; enforcement of clean air standards; timely follow-up of hazards, preventable injuries, and exposure-related diseases identified in occupational and community settings; monitoring quality of medical services (e.g. laboratory, nursing homes, and home health care); and timely review of new drug, biologic, and medical device applications.
#7: Link people to needed personal health services and assure the provision of health care when otherwise unavailable: This service includes assuring effective entry for socially disadvantaged people into a coordinated system of clinical care.
#8: Assure a competent public and personal health care workforce: This service includes education and training for personnel to meet the needs for public and personal health service and efficient processes for licensure of professionals and certification of facilities.
#9: Evaluate effectiveness, accessibility, and quality of personal and population-based health services: This service calls for ongoing evaluation of health programs to assess program effectiveness.
#10: Research for new insights and innovative solutions to health problems: This service includes continuous linkage with appropriate institutions of higher learning to conduct needed health services research.
- NEW: Global Health - focuses on public health research and practice.
- Academic OneFile - peer-reviewed, full-text articles on public health, environmental health, public policy, rural health, urban planning, demography, medical statistics.
- Academic Search Premier - peer-reviewed, full-text articles on public health, health policy, health literacy, mental health, nutrition, urban planning, enviornmental management, veterinary medicine, includes image collection.
- AgeSource/AgeStats Worldwide - policy and program-relevant information in aging including healthcare and wellness, livable communities, and long-term care.
- AGRICOLA -the largest and most accessible acgriculture information covering animals and livestock, food and nutrition, laws and regulations, natural resources and environment, plants and crops, rural and community development - open access
- AHRQ - data and surveys, research findings, public health preparedness, priority populations, health IT - open access
- Alcohol and Alcohol Problems - links to a number of databases, journals, and Web sites focused on alcohol research and related topics - open access
- APA Finding Information About Psychological Tests - guidance in using available resources to find psychological tests.
- BioMed Central - browse by subject to "public health" - open access
- ClinicalTrials.gov - registry and results database of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world. open access
- Cochrane Library - collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
- Global Health Gateway - highlighting the latest articles published in this field - open access
- GreenFILE - includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts.
- EMBASE - 28,000,000 citations, includes more journal titles than PubMed and indexes conference abstracts.
- Proquest - conference papers and dissertations.
- PubMed -24 million citations for biomedical literature, structured searches for HP2020, health literacy, health disparities, health services research.
- Quick Health Data Online - for anyone looking for US health data and is used by the public health community, policymakers, grant writers, researchers, and students.
- SafetyLit - online source for current and past scholarly research about all aspects of injury prevention and safety promotion.
- ScienceDirect - 10 million peer review articles, with over 150 titles in public health and health policy.
- Test Reviews Online - reviews and information on measurements in eighteen major categories.
- Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences - designed as an aid in locating known assessment instruments.
- Unnatural Causes - documentary about health disparities, and was produced by the California Newsreel organization.
- Web of Science - multidisciplinary content from scholarly journals, books, conference proceedings.
News in Public Health