This is the "Home" page of the "Ovid MEDLINE vs. PubMed MEDLINE " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
CU Health Sciences LibraryCU Health Sciences Library CU Anschutz Medical Campus A-Z Index My Library Account Canvas Web Mail Office 365 Email UCD Access HTML Map

Ovid MEDLINE vs. PubMed MEDLINE  

MEDLINE® is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's® (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains approximately 20 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine.
Last Updated: May 3, 2013 URL: http://hslibraryguides.ucdenver.edu/Ovid-vs-PubMed Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ovid MEDLINE vs. PubMed MEDLINE

Ovid is the search system provided to the Health Sciences/UCH/TCH community by the Health Sciences Library. It includes MEDLINE, as well as 12 other databases. PubMed is provided free of charge by the National Library of Medicine. PubMed includes MEDLINE, as well as PreMEDLINE and select online publications provided directly from publishers.  Below is a brief list of selected features.

Selected Ovid Features Selected PubMed Features
Common search interface for 7 databases in a variety of convenient groupings. (click here for a list of Ovid databases) Access to MEDLINE and PREMEDLINE. Links to NCBI to search Entrez Gene and other genetics databases. (click here for a list of NCBI databases) 
Ability to rerun your search strategy in other Ovid databases. Searches seamlessly across MEDLINE and PREMEDLINE. Can switch to other NCBI databases via a drop down menu.
Article Linker box connects user to over 30,000 full text online journals available via Health Sciences Library subscriptions. Users can switch from "summary" to "abstract" display and click on the Article Linker box to access the Health Sciences Library's online journals. PubMed also provides Links to publisher sites for electronic journals (may require subscription for full-text).
Ovid also provides links to 2500 online full text articles via a “Full Text” link. “Full Text” link. Users can switch from "summary" to "abstract" and click on the display button to access many of the Health Sciences Library's online journals, denoted by the "Article Linker " box. PubMed also provides Links to publisher sites for electronic journals (may require subscription for full-text).
Can limit to over 15 different specific subject or journal subsets, e.g. AIDS, bioethics, cancer, complementary medicine, dentistry, history of medicine, nursing, toxicology. Can limit to any of 8 subject or 4 journal category filters.
Use "Find Similar" to automatically retrieve citations on similar topics. "Related Citations" retrieves the best matches to an article.
Search strategy recovery not available once the user has logged off. Search strategies are retained in History for eight hours.
Use a personal account to save searches for subsequent use or to request periodic e-mail updates (AutoAlerts) to a search. Register for My NCBI to save searches and collections of articles, set up e-mail updates, and customize filters for displaying results.
Ability to e-mail results to yourself or others. Ability to e-mail results to yourself or others via the "Send To" e-mail feature
Common limits may be applied from the initial search screen. Filters appear to the left of the search results.
Search terms automatically map to MeSH headings. Search terms map to MeSH headings and are also searched as text words.
MeSH terms are not automatically exploded. MeSH terms are automatically exploded.
MEDLINE and PREMEDLINE updated daily, one day after PubMed. Updated daily by National Library of Medicine.
"Clinical Queries" may be used for evidence based filtering in MEDLINE and CINAHL. "Clinical Queries" may be used to retrieve quality research articles. Systematic Reviews and Medical Genetics searches are also available on the "Clinical Queries" page.
"Find Citation" feature can be used to locate a citation when you have incomplete information. "Citation Matcher" feature can be used to find citations when you have incomplete information.

Ovid Databases include: Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI), MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, PsycINFO.

NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information) databases include: Books, OMIM, Nucleotide, Protein, Genome, Structure, Taxonomy, SNP, Gene, HomoloGene, PubChem Compound, PubChem Substance, UniGene, CDD (conserved protein domain database), 3D Domains, UniSTS, PopSet, GEO Profiles, GEO DataSets, Cancer Chromosomes, PubChem BioAssay, GENSAT.

 
Health Sciences Library | University of Colorado Denver
Mail Stop A003, 12950 E. Montview Blvd., Aurora, CO 80045, USA Tel: 303-724-2152
Ask Us
Tell Us
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip